NCTA Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award
The Lifetime Achievement Award may be presented to a testing professional who has consistently provided extensive and exemplary service to the organization. Through the contributions of this individual, the organization has made specific, direct, and definable gains in quality, substance, value, scope, and/or vision. A Lifetime Achievement Award recipient does not need to be retired, though in most cases it is presumed that s/he will be retired or close to retirement.

The recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award remains a member in good standing at no charge, with all benefits of paying members, including voting rights.

2023: Steve Saladin, Ph.D.
2022: Diane Patterson and Mary Vaughn
2021: No Award Presented
2020: Gayle Veltman and David Ehrenreich
2019: C. Criss Gilbert
2018: Michelle Teasley-Parks
2017: Sally Frazee
2016: No Award Presented
2015: David Espsinoza
2014: No Award Presented
2013: No Award Presented
2012: No Award Presented
2011: No Award Presented
2010: Louis C. Woodruff
2009: No Award Presented
2008: Julian J. Szucko
2007: Diane M. Adelstein
2006: No Award Presented
2003: Duane Goupell
2002: Harriet A. Strasberg

President's Award

The President's Award is presented to individuals who have made significant contributions to NCTA or have been of assistance to the President in his/her duties. It is a privilege of the President to be able to select a person or persons whom s/he personally wishes to recognize for their service and leadership.

2023: Jeff Marsh, Cindy Meza and Valentina Burton
2022: Dr. Sally Carter
2021: Kimberly Brunnert and Jan Gonzalez
2020: Diane Patterson and Rachel Schoenig
2019: Luke Brymer and Dr. Sara Rieder Bennett
2018: Cindy James
2017: Michelle Teasley-Parks
2016: Curry Prothro
2015: Christopher Szucko
2014: Heidi Pettyjohn & Jim Wollack
2013: Susan Morgan
2012: Test Center Certification Committee - (Duane Goupell, Nancy O'Shea, Steve Saladin, Theresa Scott, Buck Setter, & Gayle Veltman)
2011: Lois Burton, Sally Frazee & Francesca B. Taylor
2010: Sally Frazee & Joleen Reynolds
2009: Duane Goupell & Denise Duplechin & David Espinoza
2008: Sally M. Frazee
2007: Julian J. Szucko
2006: Denise M. Duplechin
2005: Marilyn Goulden
2004: No Award Presented
2003: Alberto Treviñ
2002: Sharon Kearns
2001: Susan Ford Neel
2000: Harriet A. Strasberg & Jewel Eggley

Service and Leadership Award
The Service and Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the development and growth of testing.

2023: Tabatha Spain
2022: No Award Presented
2021: Arrayon Farlough-Rollins
2020: Charity Chia
2019: Dr. Amystique Y.H. Church
2018: Jarret Dyer
2017: Heidi Pettijohn
2016: Theresa Scott
2015: Jim Wollack
2014: Duane Goupell
2013: No Award Presented
2012: Brian Endicott
2011: Denise Duplechin
2010: Steve Saladin
2009: No Award Presented
2008: Francesca B. Taylor
2007: No Award Presented
2006: Julian J. Szucko
2004: Sally Olsen
2003: Gayle Veltman
2002: Bud Wood
2001: Tom Veltman

New Professional Award

2023: Sam Ramirez
2022: No Award Presented
2021: No Award Presented
2020: No Award Presented
2019: Rachel Hample
2018: No Award Presented

Program Innovation Award

2023: University of Louisville, Testing Services, Exporting from RegisterBlast to Accuplacer for Voucher Creation
2022: College of DuPage, Virtual Testing Center

2021: Georgia Southern University, Legislative Exemption Exams with Respondus Monitor
2020: Arizona State University for Safe, Sensitive & Secure
2018: Pikes Peak Community College and Merge of Advising & Testing

Volunteer of the Year Award
NCTA Committee Chairs select an outstanding committee volunteer to nominate for significantly contributing to the committee (Governing Council and Committee Chairs are not eligible).
2023: Francine Feero
2022: Dr. Kathy Kollar-Valovage

Volunteer Recognition

The Service Recognition Award, created in 2009, recognizes NCTA members who contributed to the organization in the preceding year through service on a standing committee, working on the Annual Conference, or participating in a special NCTA project. Through their professional efforts, these recipients have strengthened the organization.

2023: View this year's recipients
2022: View this year's recipients
2021: View this year's recipients
2020: View this year's recipients
2019: View this year's recipients
2018: View this year's recipients
2017: View this year's recipients
2016: View this year's recipients
2015: View this year's recipients
2014: View this year's recipients
2013: View this year's recipients
2012: View this year's recipients
2011: View this year's recipients
2010: View this year's recipients
2009: View this year's recipients